View Poll Results: Do you prefer many features or a better AI?
Many features (weak AI) 19 36.54%
Strong AI (limited features) 25 48.08%
I'm a programmer and I know I can implement both in reasonable time (seriously!) 8 15.38%
Voters: 52. You may not vote on this poll

Old February 26, 2002, 20:46   #1
Adalbertus
Prince

Local Time: 22:04
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Better AI or more features?
In the series Civ1 - Civ2 - SMAC(X) - Civ3 (CtP2 as a bad joke, haven't played CivCtP) I got the impression that up to SMAC(X) the possibilities for the player increased, and the AI got correspondingly weaker. Civ3 seems to counteract not by telling the AI how to exploit more of the game mechanics but by limiting the possibilities of the (human) player. This automatically makes the AI tougher. As to my part I enjoy the wealth of possibilities of SMAC(X), and regret the step back in Civ3 (for me, it plays almost like Civ1).
It is quite easy to implement features into the game. But it is much harder and consumes more time and ressources to teach the AI how to use them. It would be even more difficult to implement an AI which is able to learn new tricks in the game, given the rules.

So, for a forseeable future, I think we (or the game producers) are left with the choice to either have a strong AI or to have a vast variety of possibilities and strategies in the game, with a relatively weak AI (at least if the AI doesn't cheat one or the other way). Personally, I would definitely choose the latter possibility of more flexibility. The problem of the weak AI could be alleviated by offering a flexible programming interface (the only good innovation by CtP2).
Old February 26, 2002, 21:05   #2
Thrawn05
King

Local Time: 16:04
SHOW ME THE SOURCE CODE!!!

Last edited by Thrawn05; February 26, 2002 at 22:55.
Old February 26, 2002, 21:09   #3
Dis
ACDG3 SpartansC4DG Vox
Deity

Local Time: 14:04
and alleviate the problem with multiplayer

yes more features and options is what we want.