Old March 5, 2002, 13:59   #31
Campo
Warlord

Local Time: 16:10
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Edward makes some excellent points, and he has me thinking that we should know a little more about Jrabbit's previous experience.

Jrabbit - have you been in democracy at diety? If not, then at emperor? You said above that you've come close to winning at diety but haven't yet. Was it by AC or conquest? Have you won at both at emperor?

Could you give us a summary of your general approach and experience?
Old March 5, 2002, 16:05   #32
-Jrabbit
Civilization II Democracy GameCivilization II MultiplayerMacCivilization IV: MultiplayerCivilization II Succession Games
Deity

Wow. OK, if you really wanna go there...

I've been playing for a little over 2 months. Have played several complete games but as a family man have limited time. Won my way up the levels on first try, except deity, which has kicked my butt all (3 or 4) times I've tried. Closest I came was last game, which was my first attempt at having an SSC. Had my border cities holding off the bad guys while my core cities built the SS. Launched and thought I just had to hold on until it was over, but the AI managed to build a faster ship and beat me by a year. I was so PO'd, I almost broke my iMac. (I knew the AI cheated, but this was ridiculous.) So I found the info on SS configurations and travel time and now I'm back at it.

Most of my lower level victories were military conquest. (My tutorial game, I tried to get to AC, but in the end, eveyone wanted to fight and my superior air and sea power made it easy.) Have always won in the 20th century, at all those levels. Earliest win was 1934, I think. My emperor win was military, via Communism.

I usually play in Communist since I don't have to hassle with city riots and get the full 80 percent science rate. And can make war when I have to/want to. What's not to like?