Old April 22, 2002, 03:37   #1
Killazer
Warlord

Local Time: 23:22
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Additions/Changes <I think> would make civ3 truly civ -3-
Or at the very least a much better game.

I like civ3. I think its a good game. But, it can use some additions changes. These simply arent vanity changes. I believe these would seriously allow one to play the game with more ease and thus more enjoyment, especially in the lade industrial/modern ages. These would certainly help the '3' in Civ3 grow. I also very realisticly as a programmer myself believe most of these changes can be made via patches. If the code is properly commented and structured with proper file headers its doable without a major headache.
I agree Civ3 can use some more changes. Things like:

1) Ability to sort your cities by what they are producing, currency generated, population etc in the city managing advisor window.

2) Ability to upgrade units in the military advisor window. Also ability to move your units from city to city from the window.

3) Ability to set waypoints for units. That is, to set a waypoint at the city where the unit is produced. After its production is complete it would go to that waypoint and either sleep or fortify itself.

4) Ability to select stacks or groups of artillery to fire in sequence on a tile with just 1 command.

5) Ability to select stacks or groups of fighters/bombers to bombard on a tile in sequence with just 1 command.

6) Different version of diplomatic ties screen where you can see connections for up to all 16 civs at the same time. This can be done by simply using a text label for each civ instead of the roomy 3d graphic. You can toggle views with a keypress while in the diplo tie screen.

7) Trade agreement screen where you can see what trades are going on with whom, number of turns left for the deal etc, diplomatic agreements, etc.