Old April 24, 2002, 10:43   #1
Rogan Josh
Prince

Local Time: 00:30
Local Date: November 1, 2010
What do you guys do for a living?
It is sometimes useful when discussing OT issues to know who you are talking to and specifically what their job is. It can be very embarrasing to try to explaine DNA to a molecular biologist or macroeconomics to Roland .

So what do you all do for a living? If you are a student, what is your area of study?

Also, just for my own nosiness, how did you get into your present job and why did you choose to do it?

Edit: sorry - forgot my own. I am a particle physicist. I think I got into it because I was interested in fundamental physics, and wanted to understand how the world works. I went straight from uni into grad studies and into academia. Most of my time is spent trying to figure out why my program isn't working or trying to find an inconsistent minus sign, so it is much like any other desk job, only worse pay. On the other hand there are days when the light bulb switches on and you truely understand something which you didn't get before (and maybe no-one ever did) and that is kind of nice.

Last edited by Rogan Josh; April 24, 2002 at 11:29.
Old April 24, 2002, 10:51   #2
General Ludd
NationStates
Emperor

Local Time: 23:30
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Mooch.

Do It Ourselves
Old April 24, 2002, 10:54   #3
Kassiopeia
Alpha Centauri Democracy GameGalCiv Apolyton EmpireApolyton Storywriters' GuildCivilization II Democracy GameApolytoners Hall of FameACDG3 Spartans
Emperor

Local Time: 02:30
Abhorrently bad jokes have been my cup of tea for the past weeks.
Old April 24, 2002, 10:55   #4
drake
King

Local Time: 19:30
Its bad form to start such a discussion and not lead by example RJ. You should be the first to share. Anyway....

I am a web designer/programmer who only works maybe 10 hours a week, but still gets paid full time salary. Rest of the time I'm on some forum, or chatting or some other misc. BS.