Old April 25, 2002, 02:53   #1
dumbstude
Settler

Local Time: 15:32
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Happiness
I wish for this thread to be solely devoted to issues concerning happiness and citizen morale within empires in Call To
Power 2 (CTP2). I've been playing Civilization 2 for a few years now trying to perfect a strategy of developing the optimal happiness for my empire on the easiest level. For example, in my most recent game (perfectly designed map, etc.), I had a republic with all cities having "We Love The Consul Day" by 3300/3200 BC.
Now I just bought CTP2 almost two weeks ago and I find that there seems to be limits. Can food rations be set above 10kg to enhance happiness? Can wages be set above 20 gold/worker to further enhance happiness?
In all these types of games (Master of Orion is no exception), a big part of my strategy is optimizing industrial productivity. Therefore, I find it less profitable to enhance happiness by cutting work hours (especially pre-Industrial Revolution, before that revolution, much work needs to be done!). I was wondering if there is any way to get cities to celebrate in CTP2. I have read through the entire instruction manual and through several of these threads and have seen only very vague references to city celebrations. Are such celebrations even possible in CTP2? If they are, then do their effects vary from gov. type to gov. type as they do in Civilization 2? Is there any government type in CTP2 for which a city celebration would generally result in a rapid population increase with minimal food surplus as in Civilization 2 under their republic and democracy governments?
I really do prefer the macromanagement aspects of CTP2 (when I actually do have time to play it). And, like Alpha Centauri, one can build cities on the ocean too!
Old April 25, 2002, 08:13   #2
Locutus