Old May 2, 2002, 06:37   #1
Triped
Warlord

Local Time: 18:57
Local Date: October 31, 2010
How long will it take a SMAC player to win on Deity?
Hi,

I just acquired Civ3 last night. I'd never really played much Civ/Civ2, but I'm an avid SMAC player, so I figured I should be able to pick up the differences pretty quickly.

Immersion is the best way to learn, so I started playing Deity right off the bat. 12 hours later I haven't been able to survive a game for more than 30 turns without going under somebody's thumb. Anyone know what I'm doing wrong? Should I play on larger maps to avoid meeting others or what?
Old May 2, 2002, 06:56   #2
Mr. President
MacSpanish CiversNationStatesNever Ending StoriesCivilization II Democracy Game: ExodusApolyton Storywriters' GuildACDG Planet University of Technology
Emperor

Local Time: 09:57
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Whenever getting a new game with variable difficulty levels, I would advise starting on the lowest setting, just to get a feel for how the game plays and how you want to play it. If you rush into the higher difficulties straight away, you might be in for a humbling experience.
Old May 2, 2002, 09:59   #3
BillChin
Warlord

Local Time: 15:57
A novice player could easily bang their head for many hundreds of hours on Deity level without winning. I suggest playing Monarch level for players new to the game, but experienced at this type of game. There are distinct phases to the game, where a bad decision can cost a player the game. On Deity these phases tend to get mushed together into a crazy attempt just to survive and it is doubtful that a player can learn the techniques needed and how and when to apply them.

In my opinion, many Diety level starts are not winnable. I do not enjoy playing on Deity level. The AI players get 15 free units and a 40% discount on everything (pop, units, tech, improvements).