Old May 9, 2002, 13:27   #1
DhulKhidr
Chieftain

Local Time: 00:26
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Tips for moving up to Warlord?
I'm just beginning to warm up to this game after initially giving up on it way back in November. The main reason being that I gave up on playing at the Warlord level and I started a game at Chieftain which is going marvellously.

Why is it so difficult to play at Warlord or above? I am always either financially or scientifically destitute, and way behind the competition around midway through the Ancient Era. Any ideas?
Old May 9, 2002, 16:55   #2
Warmax
Settler

Local Time: 19:26
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Just a few suggestions:

1) Explore early on with several warriors to find those marvelous goody huts. Hopefully you will snag a few techs there and be able to trade with the other civs for their techs.

2) Build tons of roads with your workers. Each tile with a road in it generates on extra point of trade.

3) Build cities next to rivers (if possible.) Not only will you not need to build an aqueduct to go beyond pop size 6 you will gain an additional trade point of revenue for each tile that is immediately next to a river. (Yes, a square with both a road and positioned next to a river gets you two trade pts!)

4) Try and get in touch with as many civs as possible early on so you can start trading with them. Of course in order to do this you will need the roads and ports to enable trade routes to occur.

I know there are other ways to improve your technology and treasury situation but right now I'm outta time and gotta get back to work! Enjoy...
Old May 9, 2002, 16:57   #3
spy14
Prince

hard to tell without more info... work the land round your cities to maximise probuction, expand as fast as you can... but you dont get much gold during the early game... build some marketplaces. Better yet, post the save game file here so people can have a look and see what your doing wrong... prepare for a lot of sarcasm tho hey