Old May 20, 2002, 21:46   #1
schwett
Settler

Local Time: 01:01
Local Date: November 1, 2010
OCC Frustration
My brother and I have been playing OCC for a few months now. I can consistently make it to AC on most decent maps, but NEVER before 1900. I think my best game would have netted a late 1800s launch if i had not screwed it up with some diplomatic gaffes.

When playing OCC, do you guys start dozens of games before finding a suitable start spot? I almost *NEVER* get monarchy before 2000BC, and a good game sees a 1500BC colossus.

My very best OCC got to 1T discos once, and only once. Usually I'll get down to 2T and then it starts drifting back up to 3, then 4, even with production of 800 beakers or so.

I've read Paul's strategy guide, and generally follow that route for discoveries. I've seen posts on this site referring to "2 techs per turn, or "3 techs per turn." How is this possible? I've had cities of size 28-30 using every square, with trade specials, with three 20+ trade routes, every improvement, and every science wonder that barely net 2T.

I have the feeling that I must be missing something major. Any suggestions on frequent pitfalls by those of you who were stuck in the 19xx arrival doldrums but then broke out?
Old May 21, 2002, 01:03   #2
Straybow
Civilization II Succession GamesSpanish CiversPtWDG2 TabemonoAlpha Centauri Democracy GameNationStatesGalCiv Apolyton EmpireTrade Wars / BlackNova TradersCivilization II Democracy Game
Emperor

Local Time: 18:01
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Yes, it does take dozens of restarts. That's why we often shared maps when someone would get a good starting position. Paul's OCC page had some, and maybe check the Apolyton downloads. Also, do you have 2.42 or MGE? MGE has a more hostile AI which does effect OCC negatively.