Old May 24, 2002, 16:29   #1
Forrest Gimp
Settler

Local Time: 01:14
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Tech trading
As far as trading goes, I find it most useful to be a monopolist if I'm the only one who has that tech. But I always DO trade it for something good I missed or will miss bec of the exclusionary tech tree. Pollution processor for auto factory or heavy armor is always a good trade if u pick or will pick the missle base.

And remember once the 2nd civ gets that hi tech (by trade or stealing fr. u), think of the law of supply and demand - it becomes cheaper once more ppl have access to it. So go ahead and trade it to the 3rd or 4th guy for something far less in cost - shield I, etc. You know your hi tech will spread around anyway
So you might as well get something extra out of it.

Another good reason to trade is to prevent someone else from outright stealing it from u in the first place. You'll notice that in the beginning some civs start stealing your tech early on esp if u choose -10 spying for custom race....
Forrest Gimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2002, 15:40   #2
vmxa1
PtWDG Gathering StormC4DG Gathering Storm
Deity

Local Time: 21:14
Local Date: October 31, 2010
When I play as Ceative, I do not trade tech. I do not want to let them get something they would not otherwise have. Since I will have everything, I do no need to trade for anything. I also do no want to makethem get stuff faster, once I get even in tech.
vmxa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2002, 18:14   #3
moomin
Alpha Centauri Democracy GameACDG Planet University of TechnologyACDG The Cybernetic Consciousness
King

Local Time: 02:14
But of course you never play Creative, right vmxa?
Old May 25, 2002, 19:29   #4
vmxa1
Deity

Depends. If I just want to play a quick game at hard level and not test anything, I do. Otherwise not.
That is what is so cool, you can use any tatics you want.
Old May 28, 2002, 10:31   #5
Spaced Cowboy
Emperor

Local Time: 20:14