Old August 12, 2002, 07:43   #61
Lucilla
Mac
Princess

Local Time: 02:49
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Quote:
Originally posted by DeepO
Lucilla, IIRC mobilization is only possible after nationalism, I think a middle age GA is hard to combine with mobilization

DeepO
Oops, true....
Old August 12, 2002, 10:25   #62
jshelr
Civilization III PBEMIron CiversC3CDG Ankh-Morpork
Emperor

Local Time: 21:49
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Thesues, "I'm not very good at the palace jumping bit, which this map clearly called for..."

Maybe a thread on the the fine points would help. All I do is find a city on a river near where I want the palace jump to land. Then start the FP near the original capital and, as it concludes, if needed, pop out some settlers or workers from cities that would compete with the target location. (Admittedly, this scientific procedure once landed the new palace in the same city as the just-built FP -- didn't know that mess was even possible.)

Last edited by jshelr; August 12, 2002 at 15:20.
Old August 12, 2002, 14:48   #63
dawidge
Warlord

Local Time: 19:49
Quote:
Originally posted by Lord Merciless
I mean 'disadvantageous' in a strategic sense. For example: you are low on research capabilities, miss important strategic resources, lack populations, or/and fall behind in cultures.
Mobilization can do wonders to give yourself a production boost. As long as you do not want to build anything but those things allowed under mobilization and you are planning a war soon, mobilize. You'll be able to wage war more quickly and more decisively. As soon as you get a peace treaty or eliminate your opponent you will automatically drop out of mobilization. If you are worried about culture flips, you might choose to not occupy the cities, parking units outside them and retaking every time there is a flip. Flips happen on your turn, so the enemy only gets one defender when it returns to him.