Old June 19, 2002, 11:50   #1
SpencerH
Civilization III PBEMCivilization III MultiplayerBtS Tri-League
Emperor

Local Time: 21:52
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Playing as the Germans
I'm in the middle of civfanatics GOTM 8 which is monarch as the Germans. This is the first time I've played as them and I would say that I'm not dominating the game as well as normally do. I'm a builder so maybe the Germans are not my 'cup of tea', or is it just bad luck.
If any man be thirsty, let him come unto me and drink. Vampire 7:37
Just one old soldiers opinion. E Tenebris Lux. Pax quaeritur bello.
Old June 19, 2002, 11:56   #2
Arrian
PtWDG Gathering StormInterSite Democracy Game: Apolyton TeamApolyton UniversityC4DG Gathering StormPtWDG2 Cake or Death?
Deity

Local Time: 22:52
I'm playing a mini tourney (see Strategy forum), which is Germans on Emperor. And suffice it to say that things are not proceeding well. Without religious or industrious, building is tough. Ancient war on Emperor was difficult due to the speed of tech advancement. I'm supposedly in 3rd place (out of 7), but I'm hurtin'

I think Sir Ralph has the best strategy for the Germans: he sets up about 4 cities and starts pumping out archers. He then "prunes" nearby civs, basically by taking out their capitols. It certainly worked for him in our mini tourney.

-Arrian

The trick isn't to break some eggs to make an omelette, it's convincing the eggs to break themselves in order to aspire to omelettehood.
Old June 19, 2002, 12:07   #3
Inverse Icarus
Emperor

the germans are great for an early war gambit. scientific / militiristic isn't that well adjusted for an early game unless you all out assault people. barracks are a godsend
Old June 19, 2002, 12:38   #4
Harovan
staff
PtWDG Gathering StormPtWDG2 Monty PythonC4DG Gathering Storm
Civ4: Colonization Content Editor

Local Time: 03:52
Local Date: November 1, 2010