Old July 7, 2002, 04:14   #1
Bloody Monk
Civilization II Democracy GameCivilization II Succession GamesApolytoners Hall of Fame
King

Local Time: 22:55
Local Date: October 31, 2010
What preparation is needed before switching to Dem. Gov't???
ADVICE WANTED

Assumptions:
1) Playing for AC...AI has been reduced to one civ
2) Curent gov't: Fundy (via SOL)...745 Gold, Advances 4 Turns, with 20% Lux
3) Approx 90 cities...size 16 Capitol (max developed), 7 cities 6 or 7, 16 cities size 5.
4) Lots of Markets, not many Temples
5) Many units still afield...Magnetism but not Bach's (researching Theology now)
6) 24 cities are too small to celebrate now and another lot probably won't celebrate long before running out of food.
7) more than half of the tech tree is still to go
8) most cities have only one unit garrisoned within (would this negate going Commie??)

The question is what to do next?? How to proceed?? I have never done a big sprawling ICS before and I don't know what to expect. I want to get the rate for research down to 1 or 2 turns, and growth (by celebrating in Democracy) would be nice too, if possible.

1) At what size does a city need a temple with this many cities?? (Will I need to build 80)
2) Is it worth the shield loss to be democratic with these anemic cities??
3) Would it be better to stay in Fundy to fund the building program or can trade make up the difference??
4) Are there other considerations that I should be aware of??
5) Is this going to be a nightmare of micromanagement??

Thanks for your suggestions.
Old July 7, 2002, 05:58   #2
Scouse Gits
lifer
Civilization II PBEMTrade Wars / BlackNova TradersGalCiv Apolyton EmpireApolytoners Hall of FameCivilization II Succession Games
Emperor

Local Time: 03:55
Local Date: November 1, 2010