Old August 6, 2002, 07:49   #31
Aqa
Settler

Local Time: 05:56
Local Date: November 1, 2010
As I said in the another thread I just started playing again and it has been years since I last played Moo2 but back then my favorite ship design(and almost only one I ever used) was "indestructible" titan class ship:
Loads of plasma cannons(>10)
Automated repair(or the advanced version)
All possible shield boosters(except maybe heavy or strong or whatever it was called)
Heavy armor
It was always, and I really mean always as I played quite a bit those days, that if enemy couldn't take it out in one turn (meaning over 1000 damage) it was in full
condition on the next turn or at least shields were back to max. And plasma cannons packed quite a punch taking out every enemy ship on one shot(except DS of course)
Old August 6, 2002, 12:25   #32
vmxa1
PtWDG Gathering StormC4DG Gathering Storm
Deity

Local Time: 23:56
Local Date: October 31, 2010
A ship of that type is fine for ship to ship combat, but planets with all the defences including Barrier Shield would be impervious to it. If you are talking about a 1.2 version of Moo it is a better ship than 1.31 which increased the size of plasma cannons. Disrupters are a better all around choice as they can bust planets as well and do not have a range penalty. For ship to ship try phasors with mods and see if they do no work better. Plasma in 1.31 is so large and has a huge range penalty. You get phasors first so I use them until I get disrupters.
vmxa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6, 2002, 14:30   #33
Garth Vader
King

Local Time: 21:56
If the AI doesn't have much for shields then Plasma cannon rules. If they have class 5 or higher it gets better to use phasors.
Old August 6, 2002, 15:26   #34
vmxa1
Deity