Old July 10, 2002, 07:40   #1
El Civ
Warlord

Local Time: 23:04
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Strategy help
As a newbie, I struggle with strategy. In the early game I typically found a city, build a warrior (to explore with), then a defender and then a settler. Of course, circumstances sometimes dictate otherwise but that's the custom I follow. Should I be building a barracks in all or most cities before the defender (or warrior)? I know many here are opposed to going after Sun's, which would mean building barracks to get vet units.

As for research, I go after Monarchy ASAP and once I get it I go after pottery (if I didn't start the game with it). I can usually still build HG first (which is the first wonder I try to get) and will also try to build Pyramids too. If the AI beats me to Pyramids, I often will go after the Great Wall instead. Is this sound practice?

At what point do I turn down my science rate and increase the luxury rate? If I get into an early war, before Mike's, and am too busy building war units to build temples, I will try and keep folks happy by bumping the lux rate to 10 or 20%. Otherwise, if people are happy, I leave it alone and have science set to 50-60%. I rather imagine that this is not preferred by smart Civ players, so please straighten me out.

I prefer going fundy and winning by conquest, but if I am well ahead in technology I sometimes switch to democracy and try to launch a ship (but that is rare as those games take longer and I tend to grow bored with them). Besides, fundy allows me to be the wealthiest tribe and have the strongest army. Being in that position and winning by conquest is more fun to me than winning by spaceship.
Old July 10, 2002, 12:01   #2
Unix
Chieftain

Local Time: 04:04
Local Date: November 1, 2010