Old July 14, 2002, 23:18   #1
The Dark Lord
InterSite Democracy Game: Apolyton Team
Chieftain

Local Time: 23:20
Local Date: October 31, 2010
WAR ACADEMY: City of Iron?
Ok, I am not technically in the academy yet, but here goes.

PART I: THE IRON AGE
We need iron eventually, and there are two ways we can get it:
We can trade for it. Or we can acquire it for ourselves.
There are two ways to do the second option: We can expand to the Iron-bearing area or we can conquer the area.

If we do the first of those, we can either build a colony or a city.

This is open for discussion, that being the purpose of the WA...

Anyway, I feel we must consider this now. Our war with America is not far away and soon Archers will not be very useful against later opponents.

So we need iron. Trading is expensive and trading partners can be fickle. So I propose we acquire our own iron. Conquest is risky, so it is better to get our own through normal expansion.

Colonies vs. Cities
Colonies can be absorbed easily and serve limited purpose.
Cities can be absorbed only with some effort (Not THAT much with our low culture) and have great potential.

Free Iron sources:
1. In the Great Rift, France, etc.
2. In the Monkey Mountains , between our own glorious nation (OOGN) and that of the filthy Persians.
3. Elsewhere unknown

1 is too far away, 3 is based on chance.
2 is our best bet... it is about midway between OOGN and Persia. The land is bad, but so is this whole jungle. Anyway, after our war with America, we will have lots of productive land...we should be able to spare some shields for the long-term investment the city requires.

IMNSHO, the city should be built directly south of the Iron, on the coast... gives sea access, Iron is within initial radius.

END OF PART I
PART II: Build a better Iron-mine

We bring the garrison with us, as soon as the city is built we start on a temple. We need the culture if the city is to survive the cultural might of majestic Persia.