Old July 20, 2002, 18:12   #1
sevencubed
Alpha Centauri PBEM
Warlord

Local Time: 06:41
Local Date: November 1, 2010
how much better is SMAX over SMAC ?
I've been playing SMAC for the last 2 years. I never had the chance to get my hands on SMAX though, since it was never distributed in my country (at least I couldn't find it).

From the known additions that i read on this forums, there are some things that i didn't manage to clarify so here are the questions:
1) after installing the expansion, do u still have a choice to play only with the original factions, or the original settings anyway?
2) apart from the additions of new techs, projects, units are there other changes regarding the interface (screens, menus etc)?
3) changes on diplomacy, and AI-human interaction ?
4) other things i might be missing?

once, i read a review (can't remember where though) stating that SMAX was really a step back for AC, ruining much of the good things the original had. Has there been a relative thread discussing this?
Old July 20, 2002, 18:34   #2
Pandemoniak
Alpha Centauri Democracy GameACDG The Cybernetic Consciousness
King

Local Time: 04:41
Location: of Xanadu, Scottish Section of the Apolyton Must Crush Capitalism Party
1. You can play the original factions, the new faction or both of them mixed. You can always play SMAC instead of SMAC-X when SMAC-X is installed.

2. No, i dont think so, but there is some techs / Sp / units that really makes new strategies.

3. Some new diplomatic propositions and some new coucil propositions...

4. Many.

5. Just get it and make your mind, SMAC-X is far better than SMAC. And not only because there's the Free Drones in SMAC-X.

6. And if you can send me a copy of SMAC-X as well, thatll be welcome. (see Thread : Another favor is asked to you)
Old July 20, 2002, 19:48   #3
Method