View Poll Results: Do you think this will work?
Yes 0 0%
No 1 100.00%
Voters: 1. You may not vote on this poll

Old July 23, 2002, 19:58   #1
Brambojr
Settler

Local Time: 22:52
Local Date: October 31, 2010
Use of Palaces and FP - strategy
Ok, so I have recently begun using a strategy to see if it would work and not I am wondering what others think about it.

First I grew frustrated with the time it took to build an FP at a purposeful distance from the capital and wanted it's effects NOW. SO I built it close to home - almost a neighbor to my capital. This created a very strong core to my civ - weak on the edges, but I have my FP now.

I am a builder who likes a war he can win. So I war, I get GL's. First one is ALWAYS turned into an army and the army into a victorious one. And I build the wonders allowed by that.

After Heroic Epic, GL's are easier to come by, especially once I get to Cav/Tank/Mod Armor era (between retreat and ability to attack more than once in a turn (tank/armor). So, I turn around and build my Palace (using a GL) in the middle of conquered and culture depleted land. Instead of many snap builds of temples, I wait a few turns and I have a full blown continuous country.

Not to sound too off the wall, but it's a little civ3 experiment in Machiavelli's idea's.

I like it. The FP stays behind in a developed center, keeping it productive and the palace moves out to areas that need it.

I build Courthouses and Police stations in cities as soon as reasonable, so that what is left behind is a viable and productive city.

I am interested in what others think. I play huge games almost exclusively.
Old July 23, 2002, 20:06   #2
Christantine The Great
Prince

Local Time: 23:52
I think that's usually what people do: build FP near Palace then move the Palace.
Old July 23, 2002, 20:13   #3
Brambojr
Settler

Will it work to thwart resistance?
Will this also work to thwart resisitance or did I just get lucky with the experiment I did?