Old July 31, 2002, 07:57   #1
Cookie Monster
King

Local Time: 00:14
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Civ3 has helped my CtP2 gaming
Recently I started playing CtP2 again as part of a warm up to future tourneys here at 'Poly. I've realized that my play style has changed somewhat from when I last played CtP2 about a year ago. Civ3 has taught me that REX'ing and early wars are a must to survival in that game. I have employed those same tactics in my current game of CtP2 and am pleasantly surprised at my results.

Before I used to concentrate on building up 10 cities ASAP and building city improvements over military units in CtP2. Now I rapidly set up 5- 6 cities and public work 'em galore. I pop out military units and only build improvements in cities that would actually benefit from the improvement. I then find my nearest neighbor and start a war with him. After grabbing 1 or 2 of his cities I ask for peace, wait until I've consolidated and wage war again with someone else. So far things seem to be working better for me. Anyone else have experience with Civ3 and applied those experiences to CtP2?
Old July 31, 2002, 12:00   #2
Hermann the Lombard
Prince

Local Time: 01:14
Hmm...I was just thinking about Civ strategies applied to CTP2. Must be something in the water...

First of all, I think Civ strategies are more applicable to unmodded CTP2 (and the Apolyton Pack) than to Cradle or MedMod (and I haven't tried WAW or Martin's GoodMod), but that said...