Old September 8, 2002, 12:42   #121
vmxa1
PtWDG Gathering StormC4DG Gathering Storm
Deity

Local Time: 02:00
Local Date: November 1, 2010
So it would seem I was correct about civs getting upset about your holding their people. I never care about them getting upset as I am a Warmonger and will probably stay at war with them the whole game anyway. I just don't want to manage the lazy bums that work at half speed. To sell they must be in your capitol city. You can buy workers as well at times. I should say you could, have not tried it since the first patch.
Old September 13, 2002, 22:17   #122
ducki
C3C IDG: Apolyton TeamPtWDG2 Cake or Death?Apolyton University
King

Local Time: 00:00
Quote:
Originally posted by Theseus
So, remembering this is for new players (yeah right, they just read through 5 pages of this stuff):
Actually, yeah, I did read all of it.

I have a bazillion questions, since I only started playing this week, but the big request I have for everyone giving tips to us newbies is to please go easy on the acronyms.

I'm a newbie, and yes, I read the acronym thread already, but it quickly degenerated into a general web/IRC acronym discussion, which I already know.

So, to pull myself back on topic....

I have a game I started as Persia, standard map, disabled Conquest, disabled Culture Linking.

I'm on a continent all by myself, which I didn't realize until halfway into the Ancient Age or more.

Once I got Mapmaking, I sent out a couple of boats with units to find other civs, so I could trade tech, find leftover huts, and hopefully initiate trade routes.

Unfortunately, I'm the only guy with harbors, I've got all the Ancient Wonders except Great Wall. When I found America, they were barely ahead of me in techs, but I finished the Great Library AND entered a Golden Age within a couple of turns, so I caught up really quickly on research.