View Poll Results: Describe.txt, is it really worth it??
Yes. 6 75.00%
No. 2 25.00%
Bananas are made from fruit. 0 0%
Voters: 8. You may not vote on this poll

Old August 28, 2002, 19:06   #1
klesh
King

Local Time: 03:03
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Describe.txt
Greetings everybody,

Here is a quick poll for all to answer, please consider your answers as both scenario designers and players.

Is the describe.txt worth including in one's scenario when it is designed with MGE?

The file itself is exhaustively long, and really requires thoroughness and alot of work. However, I recently started playing a few scens with FW, and I noted that for instance tech info is displayed differently than with MGE's describe.txt. FW has things nicely displayed within the open window, while one needs to click the 'Description' button on MGE to get info on the tech.

An example would be the Nuclear Power tech. As you know this adds +1 move to ships, but when renamed in a MGE scenario without a describe.txt that vital piece of info is lost. Same goes for all the simmilarly important techs.

One can put all this into a readme, but ingame references are always better I find. But I dont think many people include these?

I am just really put off by the sheer size of this file, how many of you have found it worthy to use in your scenario's?

Thanks,
-FMK.

Last edited by klesh; August 28, 2002 at 19:11.
Old August 28, 2002, 20:54   #2
techumseh
Civilization II PBEMScenario League / Civ2-Creation
Emperor

Local Time: 01:03
It depends. Are you looking for a good, playable scenario without abandoning all of your friends, family and career plans just to finish it? Then just put in the correct names and titles and blank out the inappropriate text. Or if you want a very polished and finished looking scenario, then you'll have to put those career plans on hold.
Old August 29, 2002, 04:26   #3
Gelvan
Warlord

Local Time: 08:03
@tecumesh
- you are absolutely right!

@FMK