Old September 15, 2002, 10:11   #61
LouLong
Warlord

Local Time: 15:33
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Re: Oppositions to Arabs
Quote:
Originally posted by Ikarus
I have played the Civilization series for a very long time and consider myself an expert of civ 2 (soon civ 3), but I am newbie here. After browsing around the website I came across many people who were disappointed that the Arabs were introduced to the Play the World expansion. There argument was that the Babylonians and Persians are Arabs, and that, because of this, are not to be considered a civ.

I was just curious if these people felt the same way towards the Americans, as they are basically the English.
Babylonians are Semites, a linguistic group that includes both Arabs and Jews.

But Persians are not Arabs at all. They are Indo-European and their language and many traditions are completely different. The fact that they are now Muslims makes them sound or look a bit like Arabs but they are different, which lead to long historical troubles between them.

The Arabic peninsula is not only a desert and you have population and ressources in the Hedjaz (where you have Mecca now) or in the South (Hadramawt or Happy Arabia), area of the Queen of Saba rich thanks to its incense. It might be difficult for them to grow a civ there and they will have to invade neighboring areas to develop, which is historically correct. Starting from Medina, the Moslems took Mecca that became of their religious center but as soon as they could get out of the Peninsula, they built their capital in Damas in Bagdad that were for them like paradises.
Whatever, they are one of the main civilizations of the world, and partly a transnational one too and deserve to be there. Hard to play maybe which is why they get a strong and fast UU.

BTW, I am no Arab but French (even thogh they will represent the bulk of the population soon) so it is not pride that speaks but reason.
Old September 15, 2002, 12:08   #62
candybo
Warlord