Old September 9, 2002, 16:54   #1
Kindbud
Chieftain

Local Time: 01:43
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Movement penalty for border crossing
Am I correct in observing that when my troops enter an AI's territory on a road (with no river to factor in) they lose their remaining movement points?

Does the computer AI pay the same penalty? Specifically on Regent level, which is where I am still learning to play. Thanks...

[edited 3 minutes later]

Ok, I don't get the movement bonus for the road at all. That makes more sense but does the vomputer players suffer the same penalty?
Old September 9, 2002, 17:00   #2
Alantus
Chieftain

You get no road benefits when in enemy territory. You only get road benefits when it is in your territory, you have right of passage or when you are crossing road in unclaimed land.

In the late game your calvary or modern armor can move 3 times in enemy territory on flat ground with no trees or jungle in the way, can only move once if it is in the mountains.

Alantus
Old September 9, 2002, 17:01   #3
Proteus_MST
King

Local Time: 09:43
Yes, if you havenīt got a ROP with the AI-Civ, you canīt access their Road and Railroad-Networks.
So if you have still 2/3 MP left when you approach the border you ca. just make one Step into enemy Territory.

And yes, the Computer has the same penalty.
I have often observed it. If an Computer Player has a ROP it will use Railroads and Roads to their advantage. If it hasnīt their Units are stuck to their Movement-Costs of the underlying terrain, even if they are not at war with your Civ and are "only" trespassing
Gives the owner of the Territory a distinct advantage if anyone tries to invade
Old September 9, 2002, 17:03   #4
Catt
PtWDG Gathering StormApolyton University
King

Local Time: 00:43
Unless you have a RoP (Right of Passage Agreement) with the AI civ, its territory is considered unroaded to you -- each tile counts as at least one movement point, regardless of whether it is roaded, railroaded, etc.