Old September 16, 2002, 11:51   #1
Bella Hella
Prince

Local Time: 03:05
Local Date: November 1, 2010
can't research my own techs
after a long time away, i fired up a new game of civ. this is my first time ever playing on a huge map wth all the civs. i started off trying to get techs as fast as i could, but before long realized that i was far behind everybody else (which i had alraedy anticipated). so i used the great library strategy and got the needed techs. i then concentrated on making as much dough as possible, setting the science to 0 and promoting one worker to scientist so i was still researching. i bought techs or got them through the great library until, unfortunately, i got education.

well, i guess i'm pretty bad at this game, because i wanted to start researching on my own, but didn't have enough money, even though that's supposed to be my big strategy. i could only set the science slider up to 30% before my income became negative. so i continued to buy techs. everybody (me and the other bigger powers) has just entered the indistrial era. my tech buying strategy was to scout around until i found a smaller, less powerful civ who would sell me techs (the real biggies aren't selling at all), and now rome is kind of my little trading buddy (i also use france, and get the cheap, non-essential techs from the really little guys).