Old October 5, 2002, 21:48   #1
Cidifer
Civilization III Democracy Game
Warlord

Local Time: 04:00
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Patch question
As I'm not sure which patch (if any) this happened in I decided to post it here rather then the patch thread at the top, plus they are mostly just reporting bugs and this really isn't a bug (I don't think).

Anyway a it's been a few months since I last played a game of Civ3 (due to computer problems and the fact I started playing a couple other games that weren't civ3 for a couple months prior to my comp problems) and I didn't have the most recent patch at that point so I have a few questions regarding possible changes that were made.

Anyway I reinstalled the game a couple days ago, messed around with the editor a little, played a couple turns on a small map on an easy difficulty to get back in to it. Then I was ready to go, anyway it seems that I should have more diplomatic relations (military alliance, mutual protection pact etc.) at the point I'm at in the game but I don't, is this something that was changed in a patch to come later in the game, or is there some new way of getting it\setting it up? anyone know? also 2 other countries put an embargo on me about 5 turns ago and alot earlier then that 2 countries formed a military alliance, but i still can't do these things. Were they drastically changed or what?
Old October 5, 2002, 23:08   #2
Jaybe
Mac
Emperor

Local Time: 02:00
You need Nationalism in order to make alliances or MPP. Players occasionally forget that; I know I have in the past.

To plant spies you need Espionage AND build the Intelligence Agency small wonder.
I play BtS (3.19) -- Noble or Prince, Rome, marathon speed, huge hemispheres (2 of them), aggressive AI, no tech brokering. I enjoy the Hephmod Beyond mod. For all non-civ computer uses, including internet, I use a Mac.
Old October 5, 2002, 23:13   #3
Catt
PtWDG Gathering StormApolyton University
King