Old October 13, 2002, 08:11   #1
Osito de Felpa
Settler

Local Time: 09:18
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Can someone help me with roaming tribes
Playing at a mere warlord level with roaming tribes, I find I have to devote almost all my resources to dealing with the tribes. They only send one at a time, but there are a ton of villages around, so there is a lot to deal with. I could just set it to sedentary, while I learn how to handle it, but I just wondered if it's supposed to be like this.

I'm new to CIV III, but I played CIV1&2 and don't recall a problem like this
Osito de Felpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13, 2002, 09:44   #2
SpencerH
Civilization III PBEMCivilization III MultiplayerBtS Tri-League
Emperor

Local Time: 04:18
Barbs are more of a trouble in civ3 than in previous games. I've found they're also more trouble with 1.29 than earlier versions so I'd say the answer is "its supposed to be like this".

Read the barb threads and you'll get the tactics for dealing with them. I guess the chief two are to keep areas not within a civ under surveillance for barb forts that pop up from the sea, and to kill them ASAP. After a short while the barb forts spawn horsemen and then hordes of horsemen.
If any man be thirsty, let him come unto me and drink. Vampire 7:37
Just one old soldiers opinion. E Tenebris Lux. Pax quaeritur bello.
SpencerH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13, 2002, 11:23   #3
Ethelred
King

Local Time: 01:18
You have to be doing something wrong if barbarians are such a problem on warlord. Either that or you have a very weird game going.

On Warlord you have a large bonus versus barbarians. You should rarely loose a unit except for when the Raging Hordes hit and those only happen after the a second civ hits a new era. Usually the barbarians are all gone by the end of the Middle Ages so you usually on only get raging hordes just the once.