Old October 16, 2002, 13:41   #1
Drago Sinio
Prince

Local Time: 09:27
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Caravans and Wonders
Havent played CIV2 in a while, a bit rusty. The AI just beat the hell out of me in a game! Cool.

Question: Is it generally considered better to send your caravan(s) to the city building a wonder and cash it in that way, or to send the caravan/freight to a distant city that demands the trade goods, so you get the science beakers, and use the gold to buy the wonder?

Maybe keep some caravans "warehoused" in case the AI is about to build it before you have enough gold saved up?

It seems to me it must be better to get the extra science, but like I say the AI is smarter than I am, so..?
Old October 16, 2002, 13:58   #2
solo
Apolytoners Hall of Fame
King

Since deliveries can take a while, this probably depends on how badly you need the wonder. If you can afford to wait and are fairly sure of a safe delivery, and are able to make over 200 gold by trade, I think it is smarter to go that route, since you boost science, build up more trade arrows, and end up with more gold than it would have cost to buy the equivalent number of shields needed to construct the wonder.
Old October 16, 2002, 14:07   #3
Drago Sinio
Prince

Its hard to figure out how much trade you will get for a particular caravan, though, it seems to vary wildly. And I just hate it when you travel a distance to a particular city, and by the time you get there- they are no longer interested in your goods. But if it were easy to figure out- it would not be so much fun.
Old October 16, 2002, 19:22   #4
solo
Apolytoners Hall of Fame
King

For costs see Samson's post. He has figured it all out and has conveniently presented his results in a new post today.