View Poll Results: Have you ever completed a SMAC/X PBEM game? How many?
None 4 30.77%
1 2 15.38%
2 2 15.38%
3-5 2 15.38%
6-10 0 0%
10+ 3 23.08%
Voters: 13. You may not vote on this poll

Old October 22, 2002, 07:48   #1
duMa
Alpha Centauri PBEM
Prince

Local Time: 10:42
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Have you ever completed a SMAC/X PBEM game?
Have you ever completed a SMAC/X PBEM game?
How many?

I'm still relatively new to PBEM's, and I'm only involved in 4, but considering they've all stalled out to, at the absolute best, 1 turn/week... I have to wonder if anyone's ever completed one of these PBEM games?

If you have, did they involve people that had been invited? By a quick mind boggle, that's the only way I figure a game might complete.

Give me hope, people
Cheers.

Last edited by duMa; October 22, 2002 at 07:55.
Old October 22, 2002, 12:39   #2
Flubber
Alpha Centauri PBEMACDG PeaceAlpha Centauri Democracy GameACDG The Human HiveACDG Planet University of TechnologyACDG The Cybernetic Consciousness
Deity

Local Time: 03:42
There IS hope although I have found that games move slower now than they did a year ago and people are less apt to be apologetic for delays.

I have finished over 10 Pbem games and have only had one that did not get completed. The key to getting a game that actually finishes is to find the right players. I have several people that I know to be both reliable and fast and I tend to try now to play combinations of those people . -- I have had games that did 100 turns for each of 4 players in just over 100 days. ( I believe we did the first 4 or 5 years in a couple of hours when we all happened to be online)

The other thing is I think that any more than 4 players is a mistake. Somebody commented once that turnaround time is an exponential function of the number of players and I have found that to be pretty accurate. 7 player games are glacial IMHO.