Old October 31, 2002, 05:57   #1
Messer Niccolò
Prince

Local Time: 11:07
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Why do AI research faster than me?
Well, I've just (re)started to play Civ III, after I had given up last year in favour of Civ II, just because I'm a newbie I've started to play regent.
The question is why the AI seems to be always ahead in tech leading even if I have the only scientific civ on the face of the planet?
Then they sell me their discoveries for ... At this point I usually get bored and go for a little war just to teach them who is the boss.
But why is AI ALWAYS leading tech race???

One question added: should I beeline for monarchy or it's better republic?

... waiting...

... corruption su*xs..
Old October 31, 2002, 13:11   #2
vmxa1
PtWDG Gathering StormC4DG Gathering Storm
Deity

Local Time: 06:07
I prefer to go to republic as a non religous civ, I do not want to make more than one switch.
The AI should not out research you on regent. They will probably get a jump on you as they will be trading with each other. Things to look at are 1- contact, the more civs you know the better. If you only know 1 and it has learned writing, that will make writing a bit easier to research, if you knew 4 civs that would be better.
2- number of cities and their productivity. If you have a very poor start location that will slow you down. If you do not use your workers well that will hurt. 3- form of government (very early that is not an issue). 4- use of citizen (being on the most productiove tiles. There are other aspect, but those will be enough to get over the top.
Old October 31, 2002, 13:56   #3
SanPellegrino
Civilization III PBEM
Warlord

Local Time: 10:07
A very important point is that the AI is much more aggressive at trading tech to each other, so you're likely to play catch-up til industrial age.

discover first the techs from the monarchy tree, the AI researchs the other path and you can trade with something in your hand.
Old October 31, 2002, 13:57   #4