Old November 2, 2002, 13:08   #61
WarpStorm
King

Local Time: 05:10
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Quote:
Originally posted by Amesjustin
As a software developer myself, I know the frustration a programmer feels when he/she is forced to release software that he/she knows is sub-par because the people who pay your bills are demanding it be released on a certain date.
Been there, done that. It sucks to be blamed for stuff that isn't really your fault.

Quote:
The only gaming exception is Blizzard. Yes their games have very few bugs, but they also take SEVERAL years to develop and are expensive as hell. And in my opinion not as fun to play as any of Firaxis' games.
And every one of their games in recent memory has missed their target date, often by years. But I do have to admit they come out polished.
Old November 2, 2002, 14:21   #62
Jens_S
Settler

Local Time: 10:10
I agree by and large with [FX] Roman. This game is a *MAJOR* dissapointment. I'm sure the vast majority of people bought this game (at the very least, a very significant percentage of people did) mostly for the multiplay, and now it doesn't even work properly. I'm not saying that Firaxis won't improve the game, but *AS IT STANDS NOW* it is completely unacceptable. I paid a fair deal of money for it, and it can't even promise what it delivered. Yes, some people have gotten in a turn-based game on multiplay on a tiny map, but Civ: PtW promised so much more than that. Firaxis better fix most of these problems fairly soon, or I will be angry enough not to buy any of their products again.
Old November 2, 2002, 14:23   #63
Jens_S
Settler

Er, delievered what it promised, I meant. Heh, silly mistake, but that doesn't change my sentiments.
Old November 2, 2002, 15:04   #64
asleepathewheel
C3C IDG: Apolyton TeamInterSite Democracy Game: Apolyton TeamPtWDG Gathering StormC4DG Gathering Storm
Emperor

Quote:
Originally posted by Jens_S