Old November 2, 2002, 16:33   #1
Pez
Settler

Local Time: 11:17
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Resources on city fields?
Hi!
I'm new to this forum and quite new to Civ III, but I've played Civ II quite extensively so I'm not a total newbie.
I haven't been able to find any conclusive information on which resources you get on the city field itself, depending on terrain type and bonus resources. It seems I always get two food and one shield no matter what is underneath, but commerce bonus (eg. gold on a hill) seems to count. Is this true?
Btw. I play US version 1.29f.

Thanks!
Old November 2, 2002, 16:54   #2
vmxa1
PtWDG Gathering StormC4DG Gathering Storm
Deity

Local Time: 06:17
AFAIK that is the default for a new founded city. It you are on a bonus tile such as gold, I understand you get that boost as well, but have not tested it.
Old November 2, 2002, 17:38   #3
Theseus
PtWDG Gathering StormApolyton UniversityApolytoners Hall of FameBtS Tri-LeagueC4DG Gathering StormApolyCon 06 Participants
Emperor

Location: The warmonger formerly known as rpodos. Gathering Storm!
Pez, you are correct... you lose the value of any strategic or luxury resources. The only additional commerce available (other than gold) is if the town is placed alongside a river.
The greatest delight for man is to inflict defeat on his enemies, to drive them before him, to see those dear to them with their faces bathed in tears, to bestride their horses, to crush in his arms their daughters and wives.

Duas uncias in puncta mortalis est.
Old November 2, 2002, 20:42   #4
Pez
Settler

Thanks for your replies! So I'm right that generally no bonus resources count on a city field except gold and rivers. But I still don't comprehend the commerce bonus and its development in the course of a game.