Old November 3, 2002, 19:54   #1
Sunstone
Civilization III Multiplayer
Chieftain

Local Time: 11:20
Local Date: November 1, 2010
from the chat: Does the AI see the whole map ?!
Hi,
not really a PTW-topic but interesting anyway, in the chat i found this one really strange :

Gacel> why can the ai see the whole map? it always feels like the ai is cheating... is it the only way to get the ai strong/good/intersting eough? (as a programmer i know how hard it is to get somthing like that working good)
Gacel: I'm not sure, though I think it was to increase the challenge. END
Jeff: If the AI already sees the entire map, then does trading world/territory maps with them have any real effect? Why do they value the maps so highly?
Xuen: Not to sure about that. Maybe to facilitate the illusion of a human opponent. END

That would be really sad. But I remember Soren to say sth about the AI fighting the same FOG of War Problems like humans. I really hope Jeff talks nonsense.

Anyone knows something about this topic ?

p.s. very sorry if this has been discussed before.
Old November 3, 2002, 20:10   #2
notyoueither
Civilization III MultiplayerCivilization III PBEMInterSite Democracy Game: Apolyton TeamC3C IDG: Apolyton TeamApolytoners Hall of FameCiv4 InterSite DG: Apolyton TeamPolyCast TeamPtWDG Gathering StormC4DG Gathering Storm
Deity

Local Time: 04:20
Knowledge of the map is the one *cheat* given to the AI that we have no control of according to Soren.
Old November 3, 2002, 20:25   #3
Jon Shafer
PtWDG RoleplayPtWDG Gathering StormPtWDG Neu DemogypticaInterSite Democracy Game: Apolyton TeamPtWDG LegolandPtWDG Vox ControliPtWDG Glory of WarPtWDG2 SunshineApolyton UniversityC3CDG Desolation RowApolytoners Hall of FameCivilization IV CreatorsC4DG SarantiumApolyCon 06 ParticipantsPtWDG Lux Invicta
Firaxis Games Programmer/Designer

Local Time: 06:20