Old November 4, 2002, 02:53   #1
Rufus T. Firefly
King

Local Time: 06:21
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Compared to the AI, I'm rich. Why?
I'm new to the game (but not to Civ), and I'm still fooling around trying to get a feel for it. In my current game on Warlord, it's 1500, my Babylonians are a democracy who've just entered the industrial age, and I have ~750 gold. This is way, way more than any of the other civs in the game, though I'm not any bigger than any of them, nor do I have more trade routes. I haven't been hording gold, either; I've been spending the maximum possible gold on science (without running a decifit) at all times. So why do I have so much more money than the AI? Should I be spending it on something? What?
Old November 4, 2002, 03:05   #2
vondrack
lifer
InterSite Democracy Game: Apolyton TeamCivilization III PBEMCivilization IV PBEMPtWDG Legoland
Emperor

Local Time: 11:21
Rufus, such a question can't be answered conveniently without a savegame. There are lots of possible reasons for you to be rich - playing a commercial civ, doing little tech trading, having a small military, having specific gold-mining great wonders... I could continue on and on. Try attaching a savegame and someone will tell you.
Old November 4, 2002, 03:22   #3
Rufus T. Firefly
King

Point taken, Vondrack. I'll try from my home computer, later (if my daughter lets me have it ). But what I'm saying is, the AI seems to make it a policy not to have too much money around. It's clearly spending its money on something, and I don't know what.
Old November 4, 2002, 03:35   #4
vondrack
lifer
InterSite Democracy Game: Apolyton TeamCivilization III PBEMCivilization IV PBEMPtWDG Legoland
Emperor