Old November 4, 2002, 09:11   #1
Jmaster
Chieftain

Local Time: 04:22
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Expanding my gaming horizons
I'm relatively new to Poly, so please bear with me.

The only game on Poly I've played is SMAC. Does anybody have any suggestions in case I decide to go game-buying? I prefer strategies, preferably ones with epic storylines.
Old November 4, 2002, 11:37   #2
Hendrik
Warlord

Local Time: 10:22
Alien Crossfire well you don't have much of a choice, there are fewer bugs in SMACX than in SMAC, especially if you want to pop boom with Morgan or Yang using a golden age.
Old November 4, 2002, 13:01   #3
Ogie Oglethorpe
ACDG3 Spartans
Emperor

Actually been playing a bunch of CTP2. Quite enjoyable, far better IMHO than CIV3. Since it has an active modding community, you buy one game and essentially have 5 to choose from if you download the mods found here at 'Poly.

From what I understand CTP was shite when it first came out. A bit less shite for CTP2, actually I find CTP2 (unmodded better than CIV3). But it really shines in some of its mods.

Worth a look see considereing you can pick it up for less than $20.

OTOH, SMAC and SMAX will always be my favs.

“In a democracy, I realize you don’t need to talk to the top leader to know how the country feels. When I go to a dictatorship, I only have to talk to one person and that’s the dictator, because he speaks for all the people.” - Jimmy Carter
Old November 4, 2002, 17:36   #4
Andemagne
Civilization II MultiplayerNationStatesCivilization II Succession GamesACDG3 Spartans
King

Local Time: 12:22
Civilization 2 Multiplayer Gold, Civilization 3, Colonization, Master Of Orion 2, .....
Old November 4, 2002, 18:13   #5
Method
ACDG The Cybernetic ConsciousnessACDG Planet University of TechnologyACDG The Human HiveACDG PeaceACDG3 Data AngelsACDG3 GaiansACDG3 MorganACDG3 SpartansAlpha Centauri Democracy GameACDG3 CMNs
Emperor

Local Time: 07:22
Quote:
Originally posted by Andemagne
Civilization 3