Old November 11, 2002, 06:39   #1
Das_Luftwaffle
Settler

Local Time: 10:49
Local Date: November 1, 2010
I'm new to EU2.
I got a question for those of you who are adept at EU2. I just want to know, what are your secrets to getting a good ecomomy going? I usually play the Fantasia level btw.

Thanks.
Das_Luftwaffle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11, 2002, 08:10   #2
Havard
Warlord

Local Time: 11:49
I would start with scraping the fantasia scenario...

Top two:

1. Trade
You should try to get a foothold in every Center of Trade (CoT) you know of. 5 merchants in each. Go for monopoly if possible, but if the competition is too stiff it's usually not worth it. To keep your share here you need to invest in improving your trade levels.

2. Watch the supply limit
When you build more troops than you can supply you pay huge penalties. When you have a small economy excessive troopbuilding can break you totally.
Havard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11, 2002, 09:02   #3
Janbalk
Chieftain

I agree about ignoring the Fantasia and keeping a look on supply limit. But trade is in my humble opinon not wortwhile (except in own Centers) until you reach level 4 or thereabout in trade tech.
Janbalk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11, 2002, 09:41   #4
Havard
Warlord

Quote:
Originally posted by Janbalk
But trade is in my humble opinon not wortwhile (except in own Centers) until you reach level 4 or thereabout in trade tech.
That depends on who you are. If you are France - ok, you can ignore it. But try Albania...
Old November 11, 2002, 13:39   #5
Kyle
Prince

Local Time: 06:49
Manual trading helps too. Remember, it costs money to send out merchants. Early on when you're short on cash, stick to trying to control the CoT that your province(s) is a part of. And let your mechants build up; you don't have to place them every year.

~Lisa as Jeanne d'Arc
Kyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12, 2002, 05:00   #6
Havard
Warlord

Quote: