Old December 6, 2002, 05:57   #31
targon
Prince

Local Time: 14:58
Local Date: November 1, 2010
The language I really love is Common Lisp and its variants. Lua is knocked-down poor brother of old Lisps, it has't even proper closures. Python is somethat better, it's knocked-down brother of modern Lisp. It even have lambda-abstraction.
C++ lacks some interesing aspects. For example, can you define completely new operator, not present in base lang? Can you derive from scalar classes? This list is very long. BTW, modern Lisps tend to produce programs not slower than C/C++ and defenitely faster than Python and friends.
One of most exciting things about Lisp: you can define things called "macros" that produce _code_ as its output (as lisp program is in fact valid lisp data) and may use _any_ language features to do their bidding. The only thing bad about Lisps: they are somethat harder to learn than mundane languages as C++. But, listen again, I'm not a coder here: I'm artist. Use language your want, its your part. I simply can't help if you will choice some lang I hate, but your surely may complete this task without any my help, so go on!
Concerning scripting stuff: here are some langs to try:
Guile (easily embeddable scheme dialect)
Perl (hairies syntax out there)
Tcl (dumbiest syntax out there)
Prolog (esp. YAP, nice embedding, fun for AI)
Various C scripts (if you really love C)
Check out more at sourceforge Langs/Interpreters, but make sure you select Status: Production/Stable or Mature,
so StP will not be plagued by third-party bugs.
Old December 6, 2002, 06:22   #32
Blake
lifer
PolyCast TeamCivilization IV: MultiplayerC4DG Gathering StormCivilization IV CreatorsApolyton UniversityApolytoners Hall of Fame
Beyond the Sword AI Programmer

Local Time: 00:58
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Targon knows what he's talking about. 3D is faster, and it's especially faster when ya want to do texture blending and stuff.