Old December 13, 2002, 07:11   #1
Carolus Rex
Civilization II MultiplayerCivilization II PBEM
Emperor

Local Time: 14:32
Local Date: November 1, 2010
MOO2 help...
Hello,

I'm a MOO2 beginner who have played the game from time to time the last couple of years. I like it, it's a great game.

I normally play at hard or below, huge galaxies with 3 races (to give me elbow room to get to know the game). I always play as humans. I have lots of questions, but will only raise one in this post because it kills the fun. How do you deal with other races' spies?

When I have research and trade treaties with other races they still steal techs from me. It drives me nuts, especially since there is no visual action (like in Civ 2, where you have to move your diplo/spy into the cities), just the simple pop-up of info... I hire leaders with good assassin capabilities. Colony leaders have to be sent to star systems for their abilities to work, is it the same with the "spy masters"? Or are they effective even in the officer's pool?

I have also tried to build spies of my own (for defensive purposes only); do they counter other races' attempts? How? Where should I put them? I only have them at the bottom of the races page since I don't want to break my treaties. After a while they disappear (murdered?). I also go for techs that increase my chances of detecting and twarting espionage attempts.

None of this seems to help. What to do?

Edited: I guess I'm asking for the essentials about how spies work in this game.

Carolus

Last edited by Carolus Rex; December 13, 2002 at 07:18.
Carolus Rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13, 2002, 09:17   #2
dworkin
Chieftain

Local Time: 12:32
1.Build spies. Lots of spies. Great galloping gobs of spies. In the bottom is good for being counter spies. Research some of the spy bonus techs or trade for them.