Old December 23, 2002, 11:32   #1
Palaiologos
Civilization II PBEM
King

Local Time: 13:08
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Salonika
Got PTW a week ago, and i just started playing my first game.

To my delight i started on the same isolated continent as the Ottomans.

Needless to say, the outcome was full scale genocidal war. All was good untill my crusade reached a Muslim city named Salonika.

WHAT THE HELL!!
Thesalonica is my home city!!.
I'd better die, than see it in the hands of the Turks.

The point is that Civ3 has many "dual" cities. The Greeks have Thessalonica in their city list as well. The cities should be owned by the civs who found them(and dwelled in them), not by those that they TEMPORARILY conquered them. With this in mind the Greek civ should, according to fireaxis logic, have as cities Samarkand and Persepolis.

ABOUT THE PATCH: I downloaded the american patch from civ3.com and the Euro patch from a german site. I installed the American one and the game did not recognize the CD.
I then uninstall the American and install the German. An error message occured every time i started the game. I then unistall the German patch and start the game. The game begins and it indicates that i have version 1.14f

How can that be? Fireaxis, infogrames or whoever have totaly fuc*ed it up.
Old December 24, 2002, 05:43   #2
Asterothe
Settler

You are pathetic.
Old December 24, 2002, 06:26   #3
Nikolai
Apolyton UniversityC4DG The Mercenary TeamCiv4 SP Democracy Game
Deity

Local Time: 15:08
Why did you install both patches? It seems more like you have "fuc*ed up"...

I guess you also see that if several civs have the same city(that is, with the exactly same name), that would make the game messy.
Do not fear, for I am with you; Do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God. -Isaiah 41:10
The LORD your God is with you, he is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing. - Zephaniah 3:17