Old November 10, 2000, 22:02   #1
Misotu
Emperor

Local Time: 02:51
Local Date: October 31, 2010
This game favours builders ...
Yeah well. I've read a lot on these boards about how the game is designed to favour momentum players and geared for war ...

But that's simply not my experience. I'm a pure builder. I play SP and MP, both with a reasonable degree of success. As a builder, I find switching to a war footing causes me no problems.

Sure, if momentum players get the opportunity to do the early rover rush, or hit air power fast, then they are in a good position. But otherwise ... surely, as a builder, you can always balance your defence so it's poised to meet the momentum rush? And once they start to strike, you may suffer a few losses, but when you turn your energy/production over to x jets ... it's over.

Momentum players have a pretty small window of opportunity. They have to strike early. After that ...

Or have I been lucky?
Old November 11, 2000, 09:32   #2
mark13
ACDG The Free Drones
King

Local Time: 01:51
Like so many things in this game, I believe it depends almost entirely on circumstance. If you try building on a tiny world, it just isn't feasible - Santiago or Yang will come knocking usually about 5 years after planetfall. You have to give them about 4 techs to stop them from attacking, at which point technological parity is restored, and Yang immediately annihilates you.

Sure, the way we play it (huge map) the game favours builders, but that is not the way everyone plays it - and I feel the game excels itself in this way.
Old November 11, 2000, 10:14   #3
Simpson II
Prince

Local Time: 01:51
Well... it depends.