Old November 22, 2000, 06:04   #1
Gothar
Settler

Local Time: 04:54
Local Date: October 31, 2010
help with social engeneering
I am new at alpha centauri and need some help. I got some pack from the store which had the original plus alien crossfirein it. I played the original a bit with the uni and won a game by conquering. But i'd like to play crossfire with cybernetics.

I get the following social modifiers to start with
+2 efficency, -1 growth, +2 research

I plan to use Democratic
+2 efficency, +2 growth, -2 support

I wanna go green to get mindworms
+2 efficency, +2 planet, -2 growth

I wanna go knowledge to further improve research
+1 efficency, -2 probe, +2 research

I most definetly wanna go cybernetic since i get no negative effects
+2 efficency, +2 planet, +2 research

This gives me a massive + 9 efficency and + 6 research and +4 planet but it also has -1 growth, -2 support, -2 probe.

Is this good - will i be able to transcend with it or is growth and support more useful then efficency and research. Thanks
Old November 22, 2000, 09:18   #2
Sikander
King

Local Time: 21:54
Local Date: October 30, 2010
Gothar,

Probably you will already have the game won or nearly so by the time you get to cybernetic. There are many SE combinations (too many to be exhaustive about in a reply), and many of them are useful or at least workable. To get the most out of them, consider a couple of factors:

1) When will I have the tech to use a particular setting, and what will my needs be by that time?

2) Which settings will accentuate my strengths or minimize my deficiencies?

Support is important early on (before clean technology) if you plan on building a lot of units per base.

Morale can give you a qualitative edge over your opponents, and can be particularly important for psi-combat.

Economy (especially +2 or better) can have a huge impact upon the amount of energy you produce.