Old January 7, 2003, 03:57   #1
monkspider
Civilization IV: MultiplayerCivilization IV CreatorsGalCiv Apolyton Empire
King

Local Time: 08:52
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Monkspider's girlfriend: Questions about declaring bankruptcy
Hi! This is monkspider's girlfriend. My boyfriend said that there were a lot of smart guys here, so I have just a couple of quick questions.
Basically, I have been in a lot of debt since I graduated from college and it seems to only keep on increasing. I am overwhelmed with bills and under a lot of stress. I am seriously considering declaring bankruptcy but I need to know a few things.
1. Will bankruptcy completely screw me over?
2. What type of bankruptcy should I declare? (Chapter 12, etc)
3. What is the cheapest and best way to declare it?

Thanks in advance for any help.
Old January 7, 2003, 04:00   #2
aaglo
King

Local Time: 16:52
Why don't you start looking for work instead of spending your time here?

I hope you can solve your problems...

BTW, Here where I live, a personal bankcruptcy is not possible (or atleast wasn't possible a couple of years ago... I don't know the current situation).

Last edited by aaglo; January 7, 2003 at 04:08.
Old January 7, 2003, 04:00   #3
Shi Huangdi
Emperor

I wouldn't know nearly as much as most guys here, but IIRC from business law class in high school student loans taken for education cannot be eliminated by bureaucracy.

"I imagine the neighbors on your right are estatic." - Slowwhand
Old January 7, 2003, 04:04   #4
Oerdin
Deity

Local Time: 06:52
Bankruptcy absolutely does screw you over for seven years. If you end up marrying a man the it ends up screwing his credit as well. My suggestion is to make a budget, find out how much you make, and how much your bills are then live with in your budget. It sounds harsh but it is the only way to live with in your means.