Old January 10, 2003, 12:50   #61
shade
Civilization II Democracy Game
King

Local Time: 15:02
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Quote:
Originally posted by GP

They don't have mass? Or don't have rest mass?

Shouldn't they have a mass based on their energy?
euhm if the formulas of the theory of relativity are true then both statements mean the same thing.
(m=(m0/sqrt(1-(v/c)²)) )
... a second hint would be that they move at speed of light...every particle that moves at that speed must have restmass=0 (otherwise their mass would become infinite)...

On the other hand, it might be pretty interesting to have photons with mass/restmass different of zero and moving at the speed of light .

Quote:
read my following post.
I'm studying my second course Quantum physics
but it doesn't say much about photons.(the course Relativity on the other hand uses the photons a lot...they are used as example for mass-less-fields(and it seems to work)

Shade
Old January 10, 2003, 12:57   #62
Rogan Josh
Prince

Quote:
Originally posted by GP

When physicists say 'mass' they invariably mean what you call 'rest mass'. So yes, I mean that they don't have rest mass.

It is a bit of a shame that kids are taught in school that a particle's mass increases with velocity, since it is really not a good way of looking at it. It is much better to think of the mass as fixed (independent of the velocity) and just have the relation between energy and velocity non-linear (actually, velocity isn't the best thing to think of either - momentum is better).

So the energy is E= m c^2 /sqrt(1-v^2/c^2) where m is mass and c is the speed of light. This is a nonlinear relation, and is the best way to think of it.

If you were to define the mass by E=m c^2, then the mass would increase with energy according to:

m= m0/sqrt(1-v^2/c^2)

so it would increase with energy.

(Really it is best to use E^2=m^2 c^4 + p^2 c^2 as SD wrote earlier)

Last edited by Rogan Josh; January 10, 2003 at 13:08.