Old January 19, 2003, 13:08   #1
Surxa
Settler

Local Time: 14:45
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Cheese or not cheese ?
Well, I started playing MoO a few days back. I had played it before briefly but never actually got to a space battle. Anyway, my question is this.

When you retreat from an attack, you can order your ships to re attack the planet again next turn. This means I can shoot all my missiles at the buggers, retreat and take another few pot shots at them, even though it should be impossible for me to rearm in space.

What I want to know is, is this considered a normal strategy or cheese tactics ?
Surxa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19, 2003, 13:34   #2
vmxa1
PtWDG Gathering StormC4DG Gathering Storm
Deity

Local Time: 10:45
Well it is hard to say. The reason the AI can not do this is suppose to be due to the developers adding it in so late in the cycle. That implies is was intented to be there and hence a valid tactic.
OTOH they call it a cheat in the strat guide right after saying this.
So you could say that anyting the AI could not do (note, that is not the same as does not do) is a cheat.
The reality is I do not recall anyone saying they abstain from this trick.
The next question I would have is does it count as a dodge once you get hypercom and can redirect ships?
The rearm bit is not an issue to me as the AI ships are rearmed as well. Since the next battle is in fact a year later, why could you not have rearmed? It is reasonable to have brought along supply ships, the game just does not bother to depict or represent them. Maybe they use teleporters or replicatiors.
vmxa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19, 2003, 13:38   #3
vmxa1
Deity

I should add that it is a small part for me and I rarely use as I do not send missile ship for attack purpoes, but bombers are another thing. I suspect it would not matter much, you would just return the normal way or send a bigger fleet.
Old January 19, 2003, 13:47   #4
Surxa
Settler