Thread Tools
Old January 24, 2003, 07:16   #1
Maquiladora
Call to Power II MultiplayerCTP2 Source Code ProjectCall to Power PBEMCall to Power Multiplayer
Emperor
 
Local Time: 16:02
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 7,665
Relative Technology Cost
...relative to the other players technological advancement, as in Civ2. It would be a totally new idea for CtP2, and i always liked this. It may seem a little unrealistic at first as some sort of "catch up" cheat, but IRL technology is much easier to get hold of if its already been discovered by another Nation, particularly modern technology.

I imagine theres alot of slic an stuff involved in getting something like this to work so im just providing the inspiration (if it can be called that) for a project. Perhaps checking which other Nations have a particular advance, and the more players have the advance the more it cheapens that tech for the player without it, or something like that. Doesnt necessarily have to be available to the human, it would help the AI later in the game though.
__________________
Call to Power 2: Apolyton Edition - download the latest version (7th June 2010)
CtP2 AE Wiki & Modding Reference
One way to compile the CtP2 Source Code.
Maquiladora is offline  
Old January 24, 2003, 07:35   #2
Immortal Wombat
Apolytoners Hall of Fame
Prince
 
Immortal Wombat's Avatar
 
Local Time: 16:02
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: in perpetuity
Posts: 4,962
There is no way to alter an advance cost mid-game, you would have to alter the rate at which the player researches somehow. Probably invisible commerce tile improvements. It won't be pretty.
__________________
Concrete, Abstract, or Squoingy?
"I don't believe in giving scripting languages because the only additional power they give users is the power to create bugs." - Mike Breitkreutz, Firaxis
Immortal Wombat is offline  
Old January 24, 2003, 07:48   #3
Maquiladora
Call to Power II MultiplayerCTP2 Source Code ProjectCall to Power PBEMCall to Power Multiplayer
Emperor
 
Local Time: 16:02
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 7,665
Ugh i guess not. I guess the DiffDB.txt mix-max behind numbers cover the whole tech advantage thing, i was more interested in a specific advance's cost.
__________________
Call to Power 2: Apolyton Edition - download the latest version (7th June 2010)
CtP2 AE Wiki & Modding Reference
One way to compile the CtP2 Source Code.
Maquiladora is offline  
Old January 24, 2003, 09:31   #4
Martin Gühmann
staff
Call to Power II Democracy GameCall to Power Democracy GameCTP2 Source Code Project
Super Moderator
 
Martin Gühmann's Avatar
 
Local Time: 17:02
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Tübingen, Germany
Posts: 6,206
If I remember correctly you can also add science points to the current number of science points of a player via slic.

-Martin
__________________
Civ2 military advisor: "No complaints, Sir!"
Martin Gühmann is offline  
Old January 24, 2003, 21:39   #5
HuangShang
Call to Power II Democracy GameCTP2 Source Code Project
King
 
HuangShang's Avatar
 
Local Time: 08:02
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Berkeley
Posts: 1,375
yeah? i can work?
HuangShang is offline  
Old January 24, 2003, 22:09   #6
Tamerlin
Call to Power II Democracy GameCTP2 Source Code Project
King
 
Tamerlin's Avatar
 
Local Time: 17:02
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Toulouse (South-western France)
Posts: 2,051
Re: Relative Technology Cost
Quote:
Originally posted by Maquiladora
...relative to the other players technological advancement, as in Civ2. It would be a totally new idea for CtP2, and i always liked this. It may seem a little unrealistic at first as some sort of "catch up" cheat, but IRL technology is much easier to get hold of if its already been discovered by another Nation, particularly modern technology.

I imagine theres alot of slic an stuff involved in getting something like this to work so im just providing the inspiration (if it can be called that) for a project. Perhaps checking which other Nations have a particular advance, and the more players have the advance the more it cheapens that tech for the player without it, or something like that. Doesnt necessarily have to be available to the human, it would help the AI later in the game though.
The idea is excellent, and should be available to the human player, I wish it could be done.


Rub, rub, rub...

Come on, get out of your lamp!
__________________
"Democracy is the worst form of government there is, except for all the others that have been tried." Sir Winston Churchill
Tamerlin is offline  
Old January 26, 2003, 17:32   #7
Immortal Wombat
Apolytoners Hall of Fame
Prince
 
Immortal Wombat's Avatar
 
Local Time: 16:02
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: in perpetuity
Posts: 4,962
Quote:
Originally posted by Martin Gühmann
If I remember correctly you can also add science points to the current number of science points of a player via slic.
I can't find that anywhere...
__________________
Concrete, Abstract, or Squoingy?
"I don't believe in giving scripting languages because the only additional power they give users is the power to create bugs." - Mike Breitkreutz, Firaxis
Immortal Wombat is offline  
Old January 26, 2003, 19:09   #8
Martin Gühmann
staff
Call to Power II Democracy GameCall to Power Democracy GameCTP2 Source Code Project
Super Moderator
 
Martin Gühmann's Avatar
 
Local Time: 17:02
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Tübingen, Germany
Posts: 6,206
I thought you can do it with this function:

Code:
VOID SetScience(player, level)
Set the player’s science level to level.
But unfortunatly to use this function you need to know the current science level of a player, so far I only found this undocumented function:

GetProjectedScience

And I doubt whether it is does the thing we need if it works anyway.

-Martin
__________________
Civ2 military advisor: "No complaints, Sir!"
Martin Gühmann is offline  
Old January 28, 2003, 15:04   #9
MrBaggins
CTP2 Source Code Project
King
 
MrBaggins's Avatar
 
Local Time: 15:02
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Join Date: May 1999
Posts: 1,528
I tested GetProjectedScience(g.player)

At the beggining of the round, it seems to hold the number of science points that will be added to your science total.

We could keep track of science totals, incrementing them for each player, each round, and reset to GetProjectedScience, each time a new discovery is found.

Or am I missing something?

MrBaggins
MrBaggins is offline  
Old January 28, 2003, 17:03   #10
Martin Gühmann
staff
Call to Power II Democracy GameCall to Power Democracy GameCTP2 Source Code Project
Super Moderator
 
Martin Gühmann's Avatar
 
Local Time: 17:02
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Tübingen, Germany
Posts: 6,206
The problem with saving stuff that has to be collected from the start is that I can always reload slic and then all the saved stuff is gone. But now what does do the SetScience function, does set it the projected science or does set it the total science points?

-Martin
__________________
Civ2 military advisor: "No complaints, Sir!"
Martin Gühmann is offline  
Old January 28, 2003, 17:22   #11
MrBaggins
CTP2 Source Code Project
King
 
MrBaggins's Avatar
 
Local Time: 15:02
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Join Date: May 1999
Posts: 1,528
no problem

just store the values in boolean, using advances as bits.

MrBaggins
MrBaggins is offline  
Old January 28, 2003, 18:12   #12
Immortal Wombat
Apolytoners Hall of Fame
Prince
 
Immortal Wombat's Avatar
 
Local Time: 16:02
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: in perpetuity
Posts: 4,962
SetScience I think sets what percentage of commerce is allocated to science production.

It could be done using the GetProjectedScience value, and GrantAdvance, but then the number of turns to advance becomes meaningless and there'd be no accurate way to determine how many turns you will discover something in.
__________________
Concrete, Abstract, or Squoingy?
"I don't believe in giving scripting languages because the only additional power they give users is the power to create bugs." - Mike Breitkreutz, Firaxis
Immortal Wombat is offline  
Old January 28, 2003, 18:41   #13
MrBaggins
CTP2 Source Code Project
King
 
MrBaggins's Avatar
 
Local Time: 15:02
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Join Date: May 1999
Posts: 1,528
Nope... just tested SetScience...

It does set how much science you have...

Looks like we may have a basis to make knowledge distribution actually happen
MrBaggins is offline  
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:02.


Design by Vjacheslav Trushkin, color scheme by ColorizeIt!.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Apolyton Civilization Site | Copyright © The Apolyton Team