Old January 27, 2003, 06:49   #1
Jamski
Alpha Centauri Democracy GameAlpha Centauri PBEMACDG Planet University of TechnologyACDG The Cybernetic Consciousness
Deity

Local Time: 15:12
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Tactics for Medieval:Total War
Does anyone here at 'poly play M:TW ? I just started playing this seriously as a break from SMAC waiting for MoO3 to come out, and I'm hooked. I find I do better letting the computer automatically resolve the battles, but that takes the fun out of the game. So - a call for help. I want to play the battles and I want to win without having to use overwhelming force always. I have discovered 2 important strats so far:

1.) There is never any reason to build peasants 27 Feudal Knights beat 900 of my peasants. Painful.
2.) Always take some light cavalry in an army and hold in reserve for chasing stragglers after the battle. Useful

That's it, so I need some help here. I never have enough money either.

-Jam
Taht 'ventisular link be woo to clyck.
Old January 27, 2003, 07:51   #2
Grumbold
Emperor

Local Time: 16:12
You're wise to avoid peasants there are virtually no circumstances under which they can beat anything. Charging downhill in a rainstorm against the rear of an archer unit maybe, as long as something was scaring them enough to stop them turning round to face you.

I tend to win by having a solid polearm backbone to my armies. Feudal Sergeants and up can deal with just about anything except horse archers. Find a defensive position and line them up. You can thin the ranks to spread out if you have to, but they work best in depth. A formation like = -- -- = -- -- = is good. Then have a couple of archer units very close behind to pepper the enemy and draw them onto your spears.