Old February 19, 2001, 14:55   #1
lbores
Warlord

Local Time: 05:05
Local Date: October 31, 2010
I'll trade you an aggie for 2 puries.
Which may puzzle some of you young whippersnappers who've probably never played Marbles let alone seen one. But my question has to do with Tech trades.

I will usually only trade tech at the same level. If they're offering a higher level tech, I always check the datalinks. I never trade tech for world maps (unless I'm going to war) and I never respond positively to a coerced trade nor will I pay or trade for a comm link. I'll sometimes do 'a personal favor' for Deirdre but never for Miriam. I hate Miriam - well and truly; it's personal. It's her whole ethos but that's another story. My greatest joy is seeing her being zapped during 'interrogation' and I'm a physician, a healer! Go figure.
Old February 19, 2001, 22:17   #2
Sarxis
Rise of Nations MultiplayerAlpha Centauri PBEMCivilization III MultiplayerCivilization III PBEMCTP2 Source Code ProjectCall to Power II MultiplayerCall to Power MultiplayerCivilization IV: MultiplayerCivilization IV CreatorsGalCiv Apolyton Empire
Emperor

Local Time: 01:05
Many times I will give a higher level tech for a lower level one against the computers, because I know that I will make better use of the created tech equality. Of course, if someone asks me to trade Applied Gravitonics for Unified Field Theory, they are likely to get a PB stuffed in their unmentionables.

But then again, if I am feeling like being challenged by the AI, I will trade or give away techs to my disadvantage; this way, I know that the computer will at least have a fighting against me. Wish I didn't have to do it, but you know how the AI can be.

As far as the AI threatening me to give techs, well, that just depends on my ability to stand against the coercer, or I just take a chance at them going away with only their displeasure, and not a vendetta!
Old February 20, 2001, 10:41   #3
cbn
Prince

Local Time: 01:35