rjmatsleepers
Civilization II Democracy Game
King

Local Time: 19:46
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Quote:
Originally posted by solo

1276 Arrival on Alpha Centauri
Wow! It's great to look over the shoulder of a master at work. It all seems so easy as you explain it and then I go back to my game and it gets difficult again. I think I will need to read your log many times to learn all the lessons.

Thanks - and keep up the good work.

RJM at Sleepers
Old February 23, 2003, 05:21   #92
SlowThinker
GameLeagueApolytoners Hall of Fame
King

Local Time: 21:46
Before I will comment Monk I must say I have no experience with neither caravans, neither OCC or early landing games. My few Civ2 games ended about 0 AD. So include automately texts 'I have a feeling' and 'maybe' into my sentences.

Quote:
Originally posted by Bloody Monk
Location, location, location...I like the way you sited your first seven cities, but mine are much more tightly spaced. I had the seventh by 1100bc, and with roads/rivers
I agree. I had the 8th city in 1000BC. I think the first 5-8 cities should be positioned so that they are ideal for size 2. Also it is safer (or the defense is less expensive) if you can move your 1-movement units from one city to neighbouring city in one turn. It is also better for micromanagement (rehoming) under despotism or monarchy.
In the beginning you need to build an economic base, cities that can WLTxD to size 20 can come later.

Quote:
Monarchy works fine...We have talked about this before.
I didn't read that debate, but I agree. For building that economic base monarchy is good, especially the 3-shield bonus for every city due to no unit support.

Quote:
Early diplomat exploration...I sent out a dip to explore eastward by 1700 and found the Chinese by 1150.
Why not Marco Polo? I had Marco in 600BC as my first wonder and I was satisfied. I got maps and about 5 techs immediately.

Quote: