Old March 4, 2003, 11:52   #91
Kc7mxo
King

Local Time: 15:31
Local Date: November 1, 2010
I started playing civ1 in middle school. And It didn't take me very long before I understood how to play. Somehow I doubt I would have been able to figure out moo3 before I got too frustrated to bother back then.

Moo3 lacks accesibility. How am I supposed to get friends to play agame (let alone myself) that apparently takes between 10 to 20 hours of play to get the hang of, and isn't any fun while you're learning? The most likely result of trying would be ->
Kc7mxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4, 2003, 14:30   #92
wilebill
Chieftain

Local Time: 20:31
No Kc7mxo!

"The most likely result of trying would be -> "
possibly with YOUR head in the starring role!

What you need here is the Tom Sawyer approach! Convince them not just anybody can whitewash the fence properly. Con them into begging for the opportunity to suffer ... er ... I mean learn! Use flattery! Make playing MOO3 seem elitist and snobbish! Grease them up with "getting there is all the fun" and "happiness must be earned."

Seriously, I have not played a strategy game since Civ I (which is why I replied) and learning MOO3 is not quite as bad as represented. I think the learning curve is more like six to eight hours at most (that's all it took a dolt newbie like myself) if you have a beginner's tutorial, such as is not supplied with the game and which has to be hunted down on the web.

As for being fun, is there a gamer who does not find the challenge all the fun?

I do agree that learning MOO3 could be a lot easier even than what it is and maybe after a couple or three patches it will be easier.
wilebill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4, 2003, 15:00   #93
GhengisFarb™
lifer
Civilization III Democracy GamePtWDG Glory of WarCivilization II Democracy GameCivilization III PBEMC3C IDG: Apolyton TeamCiv4 SP Democracy Game
Deity

Local Time: 14:31
Quote:
Originally posted by Kc7mxo