Old March 10, 2003, 17:31   #1
Soma250
Settler

Local Time: 21:24
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Extracting Music
Hey all, I'm relatively new to ctp2, I've been trying for hours now to get ahold of the song "Amaethon" from the in-game soundtrack but all my attempts to find it on the internet or extract it via GAP have failed, can anyone help me out with this?
Thank you
Old March 10, 2003, 17:41   #2
Soma250
Settler

...Noticing other threads on the issue - I should just say I've gone through just about every installed file and CD file and still cant find the actual music (I of course found the unit voices and sounds)...
Old March 12, 2003, 14:28   #3
Locutus
Apolytoners Hall of FameCiv4 SP Democracy GameCiv4 InterSite DG: Apolyton TeamBtS Tri-LeagueC4BtSDG TemplarsC4WDG Team ApolytonCivilization IV CreatorsCTP2 Source Code ProjectPolyCast Team
Deity

Local Time: 23:24
Because there seems to be quite a bit of interest in this topic lately, I've tested it out myself. Probably the info I'm giving here is more than you wanted to know but hopefully it'll be useful for future reference as well.

Important notes upfront:
1) I'm assuming here you have an original version of CtP2 (or CtP1, as the same applies to that game). If you bought CtP2 relatively recently (after mid 2001 or so; after mid 2000 for CtP1), chances are that you have a 'special edition', 'budget version', 'multi-game package' or some other kind of non-standard CD. The music may be stored in the same way here but it may also be stored very differently. If the latter is the case, some or all of the following may not apply in your case.
2) Legal disclaimer to keep my own and Apolyton's butt safe: it should go without saying that ripping CDs is only legal if it's for your own private use. Distributing MP3 or other files files with music from CtP2 or other games on the Internet or through other means is illegal and not in any way supported or condoned by either yours truly or Apolyton.