Old April 4, 2003, 17:50   #1
CEO Aaron
ACDG3 Morgan
King

Local Time: 23:08
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Arrrrg, Spartans.
Alright, so in another thread I pointed out that I was going to start playing the hotseat challege, where you switch to the lowest ranked faction after 100 years. Well, I started out as Morgan, built him up til 2201, and switched to the weakest faction, which happened to be (just my luck) the Spartans. They had 3 bases, 4 colony pods parked in the middle of nowhere, and still hadn't discovered Centauri ecology. Now basically I'm a builder, as far as play style goes, but now I'm stuck between an enormous Miriam, and a small but extremely angry Lal who's behind a TON of fungus. I saved the position at 2201, and played through a couple of times, but I keep getting overwhelmed by neighbors with superior production power.

This experience has brought me to the realization that I have NO idea how to win with the Spartans, so I'm coming here in hopes that folks can enlighten me as to how best to take advantage of their strengths. I'm at the office right now, so I can't post a savegame, but I will when next I get a chance. In the meantime, what kind of tech beelines, SE's and projects do those of you who like to play Spartan usually go for? Do you exclusively go for momentum play, or do you try to build up and pop boom? Any and all advice is welcome.
Old April 5, 2003, 01:20   #2
KrysiasKrusader
Alpha Centauri PBEMACDG3 Spartans
King

Local Time: 18:08
Oh man... I know exactly how you feel.

I have always had a hard time with this faction myself.

When I first started playing SMAC PBEM, I picked up a few dropped positions. Three of them were with the Spartans. I soon discovered why people drop these guys often (by the way, the next most often dropped position is Morgan ).

The INDUSTRY hit is very difficult to overcome - especially in multi-player where your facing human opponents.

I'll collect my thoughts and post what I can in a little while...