Old April 12, 2003, 21:48   #1
Al B. Sure!
Emperor

Local Time: 19:35
Local Date: November 1, 2010
Do you decompose in space?
I mean there's no bacteria or anything out there so if someone died out in space or on another planet, would they never be worn down?

(random question I was wondering )
Old April 12, 2003, 21:50   #2
General Ludd
NationStates
Emperor

Local Time: 23:35
no, you freeze.

EDIT: If it wheren't for freezing... I think they probably would decompose. Although there is no bacteria in space, there's a hell of a lot of it in our bodies. But I'm no expert.

Do It Ourselves
Old April 12, 2003, 21:52   #3
Elok
Scenario League / Civ2-Creation
Emperor

I imagine that, if you weren't scattered to bits by explosive decompression, the unshielded radiation and accumulated hits from passing rubble would get you pretty roughed up sooner or later, bacteria or no.
"May I be forgiven for the ills that I have done/Friends I have forsaken and strangers I have shunned/Sins I have committed, for which others had to pay/And I haven't met the whiskey that can wash those stains away."
-Brady's Leap, "Wash."
Old April 12, 2003, 21:57   #4
yavoon
Warlord

even bacteria needs oxygen. my guess is hell no.
Old April 12, 2003, 22:06   #5
Skanky Burns
Alpha Centauri Democracy GameACDG The Cybernetic ConsciousnessC4DG Team Alpha CentauriansApolytoners Hall of FameACDG3 Spartans

Local Time: 10:35
Local Date: November 2, 2010
Thats assuming you don't get pulled into the gravity well of a larger object.
Old April 12, 2003, 22:38   #6
Felch
Civilization III Democracy Game
Emperor

There are anaerobic bacteria.
Old April 12, 2003, 22:43   #7
Gibsie
Civilization IV: Multiplayer
Emperor

I doubt they would be able to function with the pressure differential.
Old April 12, 2003, 22:58   #8
GePap
Emperor

Local Time: 17:35